Don’t Date A GirlWhoCyclesInNairobi

4 Feb

Don’t date a girl who cycles in Nairobi. Meet her at the bike repair shop as she gets her bike tuned, at the traffic stop as you both wait for the lights to change, during a group Sunday ride, heck even chase her down in your car, on your bike or motorcycle to get her number. She may turn up for that first date in barely there make-up, bare, toned legs and sensibly mid-heel high heels. She is fit and body confident.

She’s that girl with multi-toned skin – sun tinted forearms and forehead – and battle scars where the pedals have kissed her shins, or where the chain ring grazed her calf. Each scar accompanied by an urban half-pedestrian encounter, or collision with nature story. She is not obsessively image-conscious, with every hair exactly in its place or tucked under a severe, straight weave or curly, voluminous wig. What fashion trends?

So technically adept at fixing punctures in less than 10 minutes and maintaining that bike, she may well know how to get the air-lock out of the pipes. She may never need you. Cycling on these streets is a solo sport that nurtures independence.

Don’t date a girl who cycles in Nairobi, you will feel that you can’t match up to her adventurous bravado, and nervously dominate the conversation with tall tales of your own adventures. Every day is already an adventure. She is not easily impressed by the mundane. She is constantly aware of her vulnerability, cycling through these streets, knowing every day may be her last on that saddle.

Don’t date a girl who cycles in Nairobi or you will wait a few days wondering what happened, until you call her to chat and ask her out again. You suggest the same restaurant, the food was great. She knows a better one, also great food, great service, good wine and ambiance. She never takes the same route twice in a row.

Don’t date a girl who cycles in Nairobi, conversation will be a revealing journey of both your lives; hers a map marked with destinations you have always wished to visit, yours a curious compass ready to be pointed to the next adventure. She knows that everyone has taken the wrong turn, she will expect you to admit wrong turns and won’t always expect you to know the directions.

Don’t date a girl who cycles in Nairobi, she will probably kiss you first. She never hesitates and knows her capabilities, makes decisions pretty fast and sticks to them. If she didn’t she’d be roadkill by now.

Don’t date a girl who cycles in Nairobi, there will probably be grease under her pinky nail every now and then. Everything needs thorough, constant maintenance to keep working right. If taken for grunted, it will fall into a rusty state of disrepair.

Maybe she will stay. Make you her next adventure. That new road she has never traveled. Lot’s of blind spots add to the thrill.  She will expect you to be mysterious, unpredictable, that cool drizzle on a hot and sunny ride.

A woman who cycles knows you can go further if you set your mind to it, and she will expect you to. It’s never about the destination, but the long, winding journey with promise on the horizon. You must will your mind to push up the hills, take time to enjoy the reward of the view from the top and the effortless downhills.

A girl who cycles in Nairobi knows every by-way and back route out of your life or back home. Heri kulia kwa baiskeli… Tears dry quickly when you cycle. On to the next one.

In brief, ride hard or go home!

~ __0
_-\<,_
(*)/ (*)  Enjoy the ride!!  ❤ Cycling! ❤ Nairobi! and beyond!

21 Responses to “Don’t Date A GirlWhoCyclesInNairobi”

  1. lettiphas February 4, 2014 at 6:46 am #

    Reblogged this on Anything and anything and commented:
    she cycles

  2. inked biker February 4, 2014 at 8:21 am #

    and for those reasons , i would date a girl who cycles in Nairobi.

  3. Kenyan Poet February 6, 2014 at 9:48 am #

    The last 2 paragraphs on that article are very suggestive, were they in figurative terms or literal?

    • shecyclesnairobi February 6, 2014 at 5:50 pm #

      It’s all figurative… no going further and no tears here. :) But you never know…

  4. Maureen Muthaura February 10, 2014 at 8:07 am #

    Love this one, best one yet!!!

  5. aida rajab March 6, 2014 at 4:07 am #

    As a cyclist this has put a smile on my face. Well written.

  6. H & A Sports (@HnAsportsKenya) March 6, 2014 at 4:08 am #

    Perfect

  7. Christiano Kwena March 29, 2014 at 5:43 am #

    You mention group rides, I wonder where I can find one, care to gimme clues. I like the writing very much!

    • shecyclesnairobi April 3, 2014 at 6:25 am #

      See Wheels of Africa on Facebook, North Nairobi Cycling Club on Facebook and twitter and Kenya Cycling on Facebook

  8. indemnitypop April 9, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

    This is some beautiful writing. Thank you.

    I found your blog from a link on the i-bob list, shared by member who grew up in Nairobi: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/internet-bob/kle8u9TiEDY

  9. He Is Not Here April 17, 2014 at 7:35 am #

    Good stuff! (“Ati kunja shati, baba” – and the reply!)

  10. Recurrent STI (@recurrentSTI) May 17, 2014 at 1:53 pm #

    Tears dry quickly when you cycle…..very poetic…well written

  11. Loise Wachira May 26, 2014 at 4:04 pm #

    Hi Shecycles, I had my fare share of drama with a nice twist in Nairobi yesterday.

    Let me put this into perspective.. I first got onto a bicycle in February this year.. Never in my life had I ever tried to ride or hopped onto one…so, technically, March will remain etched as my bicycle riding virginity breaking month..I have been riding ever since in some of the inroads in Nairobi.. Trust me!! That had been my best choice of riding routes up until Sunday yesterday.
    This is how it all began…so, on Saturday I met with the mum to the guy who showed me how to ride a bike she is 58 and adorns some beautiful dreadlocks and I am totally envious of her psche and YOLO spirit, We agreed to go to Karen via Ngong road and back through Lang’ata ..Bike trip..yeeee.. That’s what cam e to my mind.

    Come Sunday we met at YMCA to start our ride.. I was soo psyched up! jeez! One would think I was going to meet THE MAN of my dreams.. Ok.. Scratch that.. We start of at Y and head to Ngong road via Hurlingham.. We use the inroads up until Adams Arcade.. She was cycling sooooo Slowly I couldn’t take it….. I had to stop like 10 times!!! Ithought to myself waaa I hadn’t signed up for this.. I tell myself.. Yaiks..The target Is Lang’ata road, the time is midday and the sun is up high yaiks!! So I peddle Masqube after masquebe.. Tortoise pace as I look back for her “disclaimer-you are an inspiration mama!!”… Team spirit has to work here,, Hmmm!.. no sign of her.. I trudge on till Junction mall.. No sight.. She calls me and tells me… aaah you go ahead as far as you can, You will find me here once back.. I am like what? Here where??!! no no nono.. She tells me at the Orange house at the Ngon’g road junction.. But I can’t leave you out here.. I turn around to ride back to town from the Junction mall.. I get on to ngong road and there was tight traffic.. so I decide.. aah there is a ka path over here, why don’t I just use it!!! WORST mistake!!! yaiks…Get this, there is tight traffic, I missed to dodge a rock and boy didn’t I fly into a ditch! Face first! .. Ouch Ouch.. Good thing I am in proper gear, helmet, gloves and all…. first thing I reached out to find out if my phone screen was intact.. Luckily it was.. Guys in traffic at this point sympathizing and all.. Are you OK? Are you ok?.. I am like yeah thanks, yeah thanks! At this point I am thinking please move on, traffic! Why can’t you just start moving? At least the people in the cars behind won’t know what transpired and I can act like I am just from repairing a puncture…But Nooooooo!!!

    …Then… aaaw this is the part I love..I now have faith in humanity.. lol.. A team of random cyclists were cycling down and see this damsel in distress in a ditch.. They turn around to find out if all is well.. I am like.. Thank God, I can ride on the fact these are pros and they can help me get rid of the red face moment!!! phewks!! I get onto the bike and right ahead, the mama was there, I tell her, I am riding down with this guys… soo, mother dearest, hop on!!! I start chatting them up and we ride down towards Kenyatta Hospital.. Apparently, they were going to see one of theirs who had had a knee surgery, Then they were like, aah join us.. Oooh I didn’t coy out….Mimi huyooooo.. mpaka Nyayo stadium, to see a person I didn’t know… Get to see the surgery guy recuperating.. And it’s time to go back home.. at this time I am like.. Holy smokes, these guys better not take Ngong’ road!! How will I peddle uphill at their pace?? Damn!! They are the Pros! Crossing fingers crossing fingers and everything else!!! Damn! this time round it didn’t work.. At least my falling fear was washed away by the fact that I cycled with pros and looked like one of them… I got confused! Sh*t, what I’m I to do, do I trail them ama I branch out.. I decided.. you know what, kama ni Mbaya ni mbaya, the guys decide to branch up towards Ngong’ road from that NIC bank place.. And I decide, you know what.. It’s been real…Its never that serious, I don’t have to be seen with them…. I calculate in my head, Uhuru Highway, It’s madness, but on the other hand the incline is gentle…..Ngong road, Its cool coz I am with these pro bikers… the incline is crazy…..so which is which.. flash of a second.. I am like.. I’ll do gentle…I do the maths.. I am on Uhuru Highway and I gotta get to ABC place.. how now brown cow??…. looordddy lord.. Be with me.. Well, my spiritual instincts’ were up high at this point!!! I didn’t have a choice, hey had to be…lol
    I managed to trudge on till ABC place from Nyayo stadium.. My heart in my mouth…..by the time I got there I had swallowed it back in place..I can say I am now safe and able to write this random YOLO moment!!..
    Ooooh.. Along the way, I stopped to buy roasted maize… I forgot it at the maize joint.. I am going back to claim my maize!! The guy better gives me my maize or else!!!! Hmmmm…
    Story of my Sunday! Thank you team Simba AKA team Sossi you rock!

    Loise wa Ditch!! :”>
    Go ahead.. Laugh!!

    • shecyclesnairobi July 12, 2014 at 8:25 am #

      That sounds like fun. We cyclists look out for each other on these streets, due to the low status accorded to us on the traffic stratum. Enjoy the ride!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Don’t Date a girl who cycles in Nairobi | Notes On Earth - March 18, 2014

    […] Reblogged from SheCyclesNairobi […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,408 other followers

