GreatForSocializing

19 Sep

I got into cycling, because of the guys I work with. Initially I found it odd that they use bicycles to commute. Especially in this city, where drivers are mad, not to mention the erratic matatu drivers. But after sometime, I began to think it was cool. While I was walking to the bus stop to pick a mat (public transport vehicle), these guys would just whoosh-by on their way home, and would definitely get there before I did.

It’s how I commute now. It’s such fun. Once you get the bug, you just want to do more of it. Over the weekends I try to do a long ride to the outskirts of the city. I love these rides –  the fresh air, scenic roads, and sparse traffic and you can go really fast – get to use the hard gears.

There’s this cycling norm, where you all say “Hi” to each other, and if you are going the same way, you pace one another – this really helps if the route has a lot of climbs. Cyclists are friendly, never met one who wasn’t. Through these interactions, your skill improves, you discover new routes, and in this sense your world broadens just a little, every time. Lovely bicycle has a different take on socializing on a bike and the pace as she tries to keep the bunch, while CYCLISMESPANDELLES, in a few words, admits to being an anti-social cyclist.
Came across this awesome video, a positive manifesto on living based on cycling.
Happy Cycling in Nairobi and beyond! ❤ Nairobi! ❤ Cycling! HugACyclist!
4 Responses to “GreatForSocializing”

  1. shecyclesnairobi September 19, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    I have found that people approach me more now that I am a cyclist. At the doctor’s waiting room, in the supermarket check out line, the watchies at the gates. They spot the helmet hooked to my bike and smiles, saunter over and begin a convo.

    • mmnjug September 19, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

      Hahahaha! Nice one…. basically because they find a lady cycler intriguing!

      • shecyclesnairobi September 19, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

        Well there’s the element of accessibility on a bike than in a car. Some drivers roll up their windows when I pull up alongside them in traffic.

        People you would normally never speak to just want to know “Where are you from?” you must be foreign, you can’t possibly be Kenyan cycling on these crazy roads.

        Sometimes it’s just the vulnerability of being on a bike and being exposed, you just HAVE to be nice and smile at folks… chat them back and what not. I see motorists get bothered by street kids and I get past them without much as a taunt.

      • mmnjug September 19, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

        Hahaha! The intrigue……

Leave a Reply

